Thursday, July 5, 2012

Shea Weber skips arbitration option, Sergei Kostitsyn chooses to arbitrate

The NHLPA released the list of 16 NHL player that opted for player elected arbitration under the current rules of the Collective Bargaining Agreement.

The Predators' Shea Weber chose not to participate this year after getting a bitter taste in his mouth at last year's team elected hearing where he was awarded a one-year contract for $7.5 million. The Predators' main focus will be to sign Weber to a long term deal that could make him the highest paid NHL defenseman.

Teammate, Sergei Kostitsyn decided to take a shot at the arbitration process to attempt to improve on the $2.5 million that he made this past season. The flip side of the matter is that the Preds could chose to walk away from an award if they do not like the amount. Additionally, the team and player could agree to a contract before the hearing.

Make the jump for the complete list released by the NHLPA...


TORONTO (July 5, 2012) – Sixteen players have elected Salary Arbitration:

Anaheim Ducks - Nick Bonino

Colorado Avalanche - Jamie McGinn

Dallas Stars - Richard Bachman and Mark Fistric

Detroit Red Wings - Kyle Quincey

Edmonton Oilers - Sam Gagner

Florida Panthers - Kris Versteeg

Montreal Canadiens - Raphael Diaz

Nashville Predators - Sergei Kostitsyn

New Jersey Devils - Mark Fayne

New York Rangers - Anton Stralman

Ottawa Senators - Kaspars Daugavins

St. Louis Blues - T.J. Oshie and David Perron (player has since signed a new contract)

San Jose Sharks - T.J. Galiardi

Vancouver Canucks - Dale Weise

The deadline for Club-Elected Salary Arbitration notification is July 6, 2012 at 5:00 p.m. EDT. Hearings will be held in Toronto from July 20 to August 4, 2012.

More Later...

Buddy Oakes for PredsOnTheGlass

No comments: