Monday, April 18, 2011

Finalists for NHL Awards to Be Revealed Daily Starting Tuesday

The finalists for ten NHL Awards will begin being revealed on Tuesday at 11 a.m. CDT on This will be an exciting time for Predator fans as it is expected that the Preds could have a record four finalist with Pekka Rinne for the Vezina, Shea Weber for the Norris, David Poile for GM of the Year, and Barry Trotz for the Jack Adams.

Trotz was a finalist last year in the Adams voting and finished second to the Coyotes Dave Tippett. David Poile was also in the final three last season for the GM award but it was not a part of the awards show in the award's first year.

The Predators only trophy winner was Steve Sullivan winning the Masterton two years ago after he came back from a two year layoff to continue his career.

Follow the jump for the full press release and schedule...

2011 NHL Awards Finalists Announcements Begin Tomorrow With Calder Trophy Contenders

NEW YORK/TORONTO (April 18, 2011) -- The National Hockey League will announce the three finalists for each of the League's most prestigious regular-season awards over the next two weeks. The announcements begin tomorrow, Tuesday, April 19, with the top three vote-getters for the Calder Memorial Trophy, which goes to the League’s top rookie.

Announcements will be made each day at noon, ET on and via NHL news release.

The stars of the National Hockey League will come together with celebrities from music, stage and screen for a celebration of hockey at the star-studded 2011 NHL® Awards on Wednesday, June 22, at the Pearl Concert Theater inside the Palms Hotel in Las Vegas. It will be the third straight year the NHL has feted the best hockey players in the world at The Palms Hotel in Las Vegas. The 2011 NHL Awards will be broadcast by VERSUS in the United States and CBC in Canada.

Tickets to the 2011 NHL Awards are on sale now via at and at the Pearl Concert Theater Box Office.

Date                               Award
Tuesday, April 19           Calder Memorial Trophy (top rookie)
Wednesday, April 20      General Manager of the Year
Thursday, April 21          Lady Byng Memorial Trophy (skill/sportsmanship)
Friday, April 22               Vezina Trophy (top goaltender)
Monday, April 25            James Norris Memorial Trophy (top defenseman)
Tuesday, April 26           Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy (perseverance and dedication to hockey)
Wednesday, April 27      Frank J. Selke Trophy (top defensive forward)
Thursday, April 28          Hart Memorial Trophy (MVP)
Friday, April 29               Jack Adams Award (Coach of the Year)
Monday, May 2              NHL Foundation Player Award (contributions to charitable causes)

More Later...

Buddy Oakes for PredsOnTheGlass

No comments: