Tuesday, September 28, 2010

Predators Send More Players Packing - 27 Left in Camp

The Nashville Predators continued the sorting out process today by sending six more players to Milwaukee. This was first reported by Josh Cooper at Inside Predators who is at Centennial Sportsplex this morning. We will add the official statement when released by the Predators.

Teemu Laakso and Andreas Thuresson successfully passed through waivers and will report to Milwaukee. Kelsy Wilson, Grant Lewis, Brett Palin, and Chet Pickard will also be headed to the Preds' AHL affiliate. Laasko and Thuresson were on a list of players that began the waiver process yesterday.

We will have our analysis as to who the final 23 may be in Wednesday morning's post.

Note - It also appears that Ryan Ellis is headed back to Windsor per Josh Cooper and Jim Diamond.

Note 2- You can add Spaling and Halischuk to the list now. Also Linus Klasen.

Here is the addition of the Predators release with all the moves included...

-Club sends nine more to the Milwaukee Admirals, Ellis back to juniors-

Nashville, Tenn. (September 28, 2010) – Nashville Predators President of Hockey Operations/General Manager David Poile announced today that the club has assigned forwards Matt Halischuk, Linus Klasen, Nick Spaling, Andreas Thuresson and Kelsey Wilson; defensemen Teemu Laakso, Grant Lewis and Brett Palin; and goaltender Chet Pickard to the team’s primary developmental affiliate, the American Hockey League’s Milwaukee Admirals, in addition to sending 2009 first-round selection Ryan Ellis back to his junior team (Windsor, OHL).

The reduction puts Nashville’s Training Camp roster at 27 players – 16 forwards, eight defensemen and three goaltenders. Players by position currently participating in camp are as follows:

FORWARDS (16): Jonas Andersson, Wade Belak, J.P. Dumont, Martin Erat, Marcel Goc, Patric Hornqvist, Sergei Kostitsyn, David Legwand, Matthew Lombardi, Jamie Lundmark, Cal O'Reilly, Jerred Smithson, Steve Sullivan, Jordin Tootoo, Joel Ward, Colin Wilson.

DEFENSEMEN (8): Francis Bouillon, Cody Franson, Aaron Johnson, Kevin Klein, Ryan Parent, Alexander Sulzer, Ryan Suter, Shea Weber.

GOALTENDERS (3): Mark Dekanich, Anders Lindback and Pekka Rinne.

The Predators return to action tomorrow night at Philips Arena in Atlanta for their fifth of six preseason contests leading up to the 2010-11 regular season (6 p.m. CT, WBUZ 102.9-FM The Buzz). Nashville closes out the preseason on Sunday at Washington (11 a.m. CT).

The regular season in Smashville kicks off on Oct. 9 vs. the Anaheim Ducks. All fans in attendance will receive an Opening Night t-shirt courtesy of Bridgestone. Tickets may be purchased at the Bridgestone Arena box office, by calling (615) 770-PUCK (7825) or online via Ticketmaster.com or nashvillepredators.com.

More Later...

Buddy Oakes for PredsOntheGlass

No comments: